The charming little chapel of St. Giles, Heightington was built in the early 13th century. The earliest record of 1325 shows it as being a Chapel of Ease and it is possible that King John, who was known to have enjoyed hunting in the Wyre Forest, could have come here to pray.
In the l8th century the building was shortened by 20 feet and a gallery added to create extra room.The 19th century brick porch has a l7th century boarded door which leads to a single nave and chancel. There are two ogeed light windows in the south wall and a l3th century lancet window and two 17th century square headed windows in the north wall. The roof has 3 bays with I7thcentury king-post trusses.
Although the interior walls of the church are almost entirely whitewashed over, in places it can be seen that a wall painting scheme survives intact over much of the north and south walls. These paintings are potentially of immense national importance, being a very rare survival from the early l3th century It is hoped, in a proposed restoration programme, to uncover these paintings described as "one of the most exciting discoveries of Medieval Wall Paintings in England in recent years".
Used regularly for worship, this ancient chapel has a very peaceful and prayerful atmosphere. It is situated on a route which, before the building of the Bewdley bridge in 1447, was the main route from the Redstone Ford over the River Severn to Cleobury Mortimer and Wales. From the church there is a wonderful panoramic view of the Abberley Hills, the Malverns, Bredon Hill and the Cotswolds.